I recently put some money on to mu account at 32Red. Thy took my money right enough and allowed me to play. A little later, I received this E Mail.
HTML Code:Hi Stephen, A routine security procedure has brought your account to our attention and in accordance with our procedures we have restricted the use of your account pending verification of personal and cardholder details. In order for your account to be re-activated you are required to supply us with the following documentation via fax or email: · Copies of the front and reverse of the card registered on your account. · A copy of a bill or statement (dated within the last 3 months), which confirms your registration address. · A copy of some formal ID documentation i.e. passport or drivers licence. Please send the above by fax to 00350 43981 or via email to verification@32red.com. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that all documentation received by 32Red will be used only for the purposes of account verification and is dealt with in the strictest confidence. Until we are able to verify your registration details your account will remain restricted, and therefore we hope to hear from you very soon in order that we may resolve the query. If you require further information or details please do not hesitate to get in touch. Kind regards, Dale Williams Fraud & Security Manager 32Red Plc
Is this a normal procedure? Or some kind of phishing?
"That's a typical shabby Nazi trick, Wilson"
I'd suggest getting their customer services number from their website and using this to see if the email is legit.
Even if it was, I wouldn't be sending copies of my debit card to anybody!
They will NEVER ask you to send anything like this... ignore.
If a company ever managed to convince me that this approach was legit, I would stop using them anyway, dodgy a fook if you ask me...
Some sites do this before they will pay out any winnings ...usually req photocopies of passport ,driving licence etc.
Most of the sites doing this will be USA owned though Mansion use to do something similar.
I personally will not play on any site reqeusting all this info but, my advice would be check it out carefully before sending anything or better still before you make a deposit to play.![]()
yep zee prof is correct...
Yes, they do do this. However when they do I just ask them to close my account and refund me my money.
Walking away is easy. The hard part is standing up.
i had this with ladbrokes when i tried to withdraw money a year or so ago, they wouldnt release it without proof of id that i was over 18, although after a cpl of heated phone calls and the mention of solicitors they backed down and said i could collect it from my local betting office, it appears theres a slight problem in their policy that if they cant pay you out for being underage then they are admitting to allowing underage players on their sitewhich of course is leverage enough to get them to pay you out without all the fuss!!
Originally Posted by wuddle
Originally Posted by Diceman
I also had this with VC Poker. I live in a new build and they could not verify my postcode, so asked for all the above. Sent it, as I was a little miffed, and they opened the account within 5 hours. I did check with customer services 3-4 times before sending info and they DO request that you black out half of your credit card etc etc.
pkr.com asks for this info before they even let you deposit.
Bookmarks